9 Things Australians Say… Foreigners, Use with Caution

 

13509026034_19073b7623_o
Ah, do you lovelies have a way with words

Australia Flag and Country” by Global Panorama (CC BY-SA 2.0)

It’s true. There are one bajillion Australianisms, and they range from flipping adorable to utterly bizarre. As someone who moved to Down Under a little over a year ago, it tickles me to hear some of these routine words and phrases. Here’s a compiled list of 9 favourites, while you grab some brekkie:

1. “No dramas”: The big brother of “no worries”, another Australian favourite, “no dramas” essentially means the same thing: not a problem, everything’s awesome. And it usually is, because Australians are, generally speaking, very nice tempered. Incidentally, “no worries” is one of the first expressions people seem to catch on upon arrival from abroad, but “no dramas” is kind of like you’ve graduated to the big leagues, and it’s harder to pull off. Take it seriously.

2. “You’re right”: When do Aussies say this? Typically, when you thank someone or when you apologise… “You’re right/all right” is another version of “all good” but it sounds so much sweeter, and I love how it’s a brilliant substitute to “you’re welcome” and “that’s fine” type equivalents….yawn.

3. “Bikkie:” My ultimate cringe word. Predictably enough, this one is short for “biscuit”, and I’ve met Australians that have a very strong affection towards this word, but… but…  it makes me die inside. *shudder*

4738322903_2516823c49_o.jpg
…Why no say “cuit”?

Biscuits” by Rego Korosi (CC BY-SA 2.0)

4. “I feel like…”: Boy, do Aussies love this. And  it’s so innocuous you hardly notice it at first. What’s amusing is the number of people I’ve seen start a sentence with “I feel like…” and follow up with an all-too-rational, fact-based point. “I feel like” is often neutralized when you realise the subsequent part of the sentence has nothing to do with feelings. Regardless, I feel like it’s so cute.

5. “Mum”: Not Mom. Mum. Always. Reckon they’re different? No, me neither. But an Australian does.

6. “Mate”: Speaking of relationships… It’s not so much that “mate” is special, but in Australia you Don’t. Say. “Dude”.

7. “Arvo”: Ah, a classic. Surely such dramatic word tailoring is only for extra short afternoons, you ask? Nope, applies to all afternoons, because an Australian is simply not going to bother with the whole word. Better get comfy with “arvo”, stat.

8. “Shopping centre”: This one is just very mysterious. Australians, who look for ways to shorten EVERY WORD, will cheerfully make the effort with each syllable of “shopping centre.” And for crying out loud, don’t say “mall.” It slipped out of my mouth when speaking to an Aussie friend, and she looked at me like I had suggested strangling a puppy and then heading directly to lunch.

9439485426_a9b53fb946_o
You know what’s coming… MacDon’tEvenGoThere

M” [cropped] by Sussane Nillson (CC BY-SA 2.0)

9. “Macca’s”: You will not find an Australian who says “Mc Donald’s” fully, ever. No, you will not. Oh, think you know one? Check his passport.

… Then tell me some of your favourites. And please, please say “Biscuit”.

4 thoughts on “9 Things Australians Say… Foreigners, Use with Caution”

  1. Hahaha nice one. Reminds me of an old ad for Australian tourism I think. The headline said “Tiger teasie”, the ad went on to say, this is how Australians say “Take it easy”.

    Like

    1. Hahaha so cute! Because Melbourne is so diverse and has many expats it takes time to come across all the true, true Aussie terms, but they are worth it. Meanwhile I also have an Irish friend here who teaches me 64000 new words everyday and sometimes even calls me a “balloon”, so that’s a new addition to my life.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment